Readers' Letters

It looks like it will be “taxi for MacAskill”

30 October 2014 12.47pm.

Sir, – I write with regard to the Scottish Parliament passing the motion to lower the drink-drive threshold from its current 80 mgs to 50 mgs. I have no doubt this reduction is well intentioned but I just wonder if the SNP Justice Minister has overstepped the mark.

Post a Comment ()

Warning for Labour which they must heed

28 October 2014 9.54am.

Sir, – What is the real significance of Scottish Labour leader Johann Lamont’s resignation (Courier, October 25)?

Post a Comment ()
  • So much, then, for that worldwide respect

    27 October 2014 4.50pm.

    Sir, – Derek Farmer (letters, October 22, starts off by highlighting a welcome humanitarian gesture by the UK in helping with the Ebola crisis compared to the efforts of Spain and Norway which are eclipsed by the contri-butions of philanthropists like Bill Gates and IKEA.

  • Well, would you believe it – a new oil find!

    27 October 2014 9.19am.

    Sir, – Deary me, that silly wee oil company BP seems to have stumbled across a major new oil field in the North Sea.

  • What a price we pay for “democracy”

    23 October 2014 6.42pm.

    Sir, – It is not every Tuesday that some of us find ourselves in agreement with every word written by Jim Crumley, but this week he excelled in his article. The ruination of much of Britain, in particular Scotland, is quite appalling and his thin-edge-of-the-wedge argument over the ruination of Beauly is quite correct.

  • Don’t close junctions; reduce speed limit

    22 October 2014 6.35pm.

    Sir, – You reported recently that some of the powers that be are proposing to stop all right turns on the A9 from Keir roundabout to Broxden roundabout. This would bring many problems to those living along this route especially farms which lie on both sides of the road.

  • “Notoriously difficult”? I don’t think so

    21 October 2014 4.06pm.

    Sir, – Reporting on the refusal of the West Sands Visitor Centre, The Courier editorial (October 17) stated: “St Andrews is still seen as a notoriously difficult place to secure planning permission.”

  • Looks like Devo-Max not even a pig in a poke

    20 October 2014 6.54pm.

    Sir, – Watching the Westminster debate in the hope rather than expectation of some concrete proposals which would uphold the much vaunted pledge to transfer powers to Holyrood, I was less than surprised at the lack of any progress.

  • Is Madras College Fife’s poor relation?

    17 October 2014 4.11pm.

    Sir, – Waid Academy, government-funded through Scottish Futures Trust (SFT), will establish “a community hub . . . innovative, inspirational design for all communities in the East Neuk . . . ground-breaking collaborative project, the first of its kind in Fife”.

  • Improvements needed, not more reviews

    16 October 2014 5.35pm.

    Sir, – Once again those unaccountable, faceless groups are making mischief around the A9 to the detriment of those who live and work along this essential route. No consultation has yet taken place but we are supposed to be reassured that Transport Scotland is reviewing the junctions and will report by the end of the year.

  • Starve them of the “oxygen of publicity”

    15 October 2014 6.17pm.

    Sir, – The emergency services, with whom I have a lifelong professional and personal association, are right to be very concerned about hoax calls. No-one can argue that their lives are on the line when they respond to all call-outs, as they do willingly, and as they did over the weekend in The Mearns.

  • Independence aim not just a passing whim

    14 October 2014 1.47pm.

    Sir, – With regard to I Pearson’s letter in Friday’s Courier, some people seem to think our aim for independence was a passing whim and because we lost the referendum we should forget about it.

  • Moved to get away from ‘English control’

    13 October 2014 6.21pm.

    Sir, – June Reid (Friday’s letters), should not assume that all those who are not “citizens” of the country voted “no” in the referendum.

  • It is right to pursue those who didn’t pay

    13 October 2014 10.43am.

    Sir, – I must write again in full support of Jenny Hjul’s well-written, researched and concise article about poll tax dodgers and refute to a great, if not total, extent her critics such as Les Mackay (letters, October 10). Jenny and I are not related, incidentally, nor do we know each other.

  • Can we please move on and concentrate on getting best deal from Westminster?

    10 October 2014 4.24pm.

    Sir, – In reply to Brian MacFarlane’s letter, It is not all over yet (October 8), he, like many others, seems to forget that the referendum was a democratic vote which was won by the majority voting to remain as part of the UK.

  • It was a means to achieve a fairer society

    9 October 2014 3.44pm.

    Sir, – Independence for Scotland is a means, not an end in itself.

  • Number plate bound to provoke controversy

    8 October 2014 4.01pm.

    Sir, – When it comes to international diplomacy it appears that television presenter Jeremy Clarkson is becoming almost a toxic brand.

  • Kick in the teeth for those who pay their taxes

    7 October 2014 6.20pm.

    Sir, – The declared intention by the Scottish Government to legislate to prevent councils continuing to lawfully pursue those who did not pay the poll tax is, quite simply, disgraceful, and a kick in the teeth for all those who pay their taxes.

  • School could have been near completion

    6 October 2014 4.01pm.

    Sir, – With his fake online identity exposed, Dr Luke Rendell tries to deflect his humiliation onto those requesting a Court of Session review of Fife Council’s decision process on Madras College’s Pipeland Farm relocation.

Showing 1 to 20 of 1397 results.