Readers' Letters

Don’t close junctions; reduce speed limit

22 October 2014 6.35pm.

Sir, – You reported recently that some of the powers that be are proposing to stop all right turns on the A9 from Keir roundabout to Broxden roundabout. This would bring many problems to those living along this route especially farms which lie on both sides of the road.

Post a Comment ()

“Notoriously difficult”? I don’t think so

21 October 2014 4.06pm.

Sir, – Reporting on the refusal of the West Sands Visitor Centre, The Courier editorial (October 17) stated: “St Andrews is still seen as a notoriously difficult place to secure planning permission.”

Post a Comment ()
  • Looks like Devo-Max not even a pig in a poke

    20 October 2014 6.54pm.

    Sir, – Watching the Westminster debate in the hope rather than expectation of some concrete proposals which would uphold the much vaunted pledge to transfer powers to Holyrood, I was less than surprised at the lack of any progress.

  • Is Madras College Fife’s poor relation?

    17 October 2014 4.11pm.

    Sir, – Waid Academy, government-funded through Scottish Futures Trust (SFT), will establish “a community hub . . . innovative, inspirational design for all communities in the East Neuk . . . ground-breaking collaborative project, the first of its kind in Fife”.

  • Improvements needed, not more reviews

    16 October 2014 5.35pm.

    Sir, – Once again those unaccountable, faceless groups are making mischief around the A9 to the detriment of those who live and work along this essential route. No consultation has yet taken place but we are supposed to be reassured that Transport Scotland is reviewing the junctions and will report by the end of the year.

  • Starve them of the “oxygen of publicity”

    15 October 2014 6.17pm.

    Sir, – The emergency services, with whom I have a lifelong professional and personal association, are right to be very concerned about hoax calls. No-one can argue that their lives are on the line when they respond to all call-outs, as they do willingly, and as they did over the weekend in The Mearns.

  • Independence aim not just a passing whim

    14 October 2014 1.47pm.

    Sir, – With regard to I Pearson’s letter in Friday’s Courier, some people seem to think our aim for independence was a passing whim and because we lost the referendum we should forget about it.

  • Moved to get away from ‘English control’

    13 October 2014 6.21pm.

    Sir, – June Reid (Friday’s letters), should not assume that all those who are not “citizens” of the country voted “no” in the referendum.

  • It is right to pursue those who didn’t pay

    13 October 2014 10.43am.

    Sir, – I must write again in full support of Jenny Hjul’s well-written, researched and concise article about poll tax dodgers and refute to a great, if not total, extent her critics such as Les Mackay (letters, October 10). Jenny and I are not related, incidentally, nor do we know each other.

  • Can we please move on and concentrate on getting best deal from Westminster?

    10 October 2014 4.24pm.

    Sir, – In reply to Brian MacFarlane’s letter, It is not all over yet (October 8), he, like many others, seems to forget that the referendum was a democratic vote which was won by the majority voting to remain as part of the UK.

  • It was a means to achieve a fairer society

    9 October 2014 3.44pm.

    Sir, – Independence for Scotland is a means, not an end in itself.

  • Number plate bound to provoke controversy

    8 October 2014 4.01pm.

    Sir, – When it comes to international diplomacy it appears that television presenter Jeremy Clarkson is becoming almost a toxic brand.

  • Kick in the teeth for those who pay their taxes

    7 October 2014 6.20pm.

    Sir, – The declared intention by the Scottish Government to legislate to prevent councils continuing to lawfully pursue those who did not pay the poll tax is, quite simply, disgraceful, and a kick in the teeth for all those who pay their taxes.

  • School could have been near completion

    6 October 2014 4.01pm.

    Sir, – With his fake online identity exposed, Dr Luke Rendell tries to deflect his humiliation onto those requesting a Court of Session review of Fife Council’s decision process on Madras College’s Pipeland Farm relocation.

  • The last thing Scotland needs right now

    4 October 2014 6.06pm.

    Sir, – Angela Constance has thrown her name into the frame for election as deputy leader of the SNP on the basis that she wishes to keep the independence issue on the agenda for Scotland.

  • Would they do police work unarmed?

    4 October 2014 9.15am.

    Sir, – Now 80 years of age I become more dejected by the day with regard to those responsible for maintaining law and order in this country.

  • Mistake to tar other leaders with same brush

    1 October 2014 5.34pm.

    Sir, – Surely it is too early to conclude that the leaders of the Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrat parties have reneged on their promise to devolve more powers to Scotland.

  • So, are we really still better together now?

    30 September 2014 7.35pm.

    Sir, – Within minutes of talking to Alex Salmond on September 18, David Cameron moved the goalposts. The famous “vow” (or was it “bribe”?) turned into a conditional theory. Then the Labour leader stated he would honour the pledge to Scotland’s people; he just wouldn’t be drawn on the century in which that would occur.

  • Got the T-shirt and earned right to vote

    29 September 2014 5.14pm.

    Sir, – The palpable contempt for older no voters by Jennifer Dempsey (Thursday’s Courier) and a rump of vociferous yes voters is not only extraordinary but also insulting.

Showing 1 to 20 of 1392 results.