Conservatives, Independents and Liberal Democrats form new Angus Council administration

© DC Thomson
Angus Provost Ronnie Proctor.

A new administration made up of Conservatives, Independents and Liberal Democrats councillors will lead Angus Council for the next five years.

The new Angus provost is Kirriemuir and Dean Conservative councillor Ronnie Proctor and the depute provost is Forfar Independent Colin Brown.

Both were elected at the first meeting of Angus Council since the local elections earlier this month.

The SNP group, which is now in opposition, proposed Forfar councillor Lynne Devine for both positions, but she was defeated by 18 votes to nine.

The new leader of Angus Council is Brechin and Edzell councillor Bob Myles, who previously led the Angus Alliance between 2007 and 2012.

Arbroath West, Letham and Friockheim councillor David Fairweather will be the depute leader.

The council leader referred to Mr Proctor’s long service in the Black Watch as he proposed him as provost.

Mr Myles said: “I’m sure he will do this very well as his duties with the Black Watch have enabled him to deal with many walks of society.

“I’m sure he will carry out the role in an excellent manner.”

After accepting the provost chain, Mr Proctor said: “I am deeply honoured to be sitting at this end of the chamber and to be elected as the provost of Angus. It is a great honour and I do not take it lightly.

“I see the main journey of this council is to support the people of Angus, the people who have elected us all.

“I think that, irrespective of political party, should be our main effort for the next five years.”

Carnoustie councillor Brian Boyd, who is the only Independent that is not part of the new administration, cast no vote on the election of provost.

After being elected depute provost Mr Brown said: “I am delighted to be chosen as depute provost for Angus and I will give it my full attention and support the provost in any way I can.”

The conveners and composition of the council committees were also agreed. They are:

Children and learning – convener Mark Salmond, vice convener Derek Wann.

Communities – convener Craig Fotheringham, vice convener Lois Speed.

Civic licensing – convener Craig Fotheringham, vice convener Richard Moore.

Development standards – convener David Lumgair, vice convener Gavin Nicol.

Policy and resources – convener Bob Myles, vice convener David Fairweather.

Scrutiny and audit committee – convener Alex King, vice convener Bill Duff.

The meeting was initially led by Angus Council chief executive Richard Stiff before the new provost was elected and Mr Proctor took the chair.