Dundee’s top sports stars celebrated at awards ceremony

© DC Thomson
Susan Melville (Leisure & Culture Dundee), Stephen Milne (Olympian), Sarah Wilson (Olympian) and John McCafferty (Leisure & Culture Dundee).

Dundee’s top sports stars were celebrated at an awards ceremony in the Caird Hall.

Organised by Leisure and Culture Dundee, the Dundee Sports Awards 2016 aims to reward the achievements of local athletes, coaches, teams, clubs, and volunteers.

Arbroath Gymnastics Club during their performance at the Dundee Sports Awards event. © DC Thomson
Arbroath Gymnastics Club during their performance at the Dundee Sports Awards event.

A panel of judges was tasked with deciding the top nominees in the eleven categories, which included Club of the Year, Sports Person of the Year, and Young Sports Person of the Year.

Bob Duncan, chair of Leisure & Culture Dundee said all the winners should be “very proud”.

The award winners.© DC Thomson
The award winners.

He said: “It gives me a great sense of enjoyment to see those who have made Dundee proud on the world stage as well as those doing so much for grass roots sport to be recognised for their fantastic efforts.

“Leisure & Culture Dundee is very grateful to all the sponsors who, along with our staff, have once again helped make this a very special evening.

“The Dundee Sports Awards continues to be the most prestigious event of its kind in Dundee, and all the nominees and winners should be very proud of their achievements.”


The awards piqued interest across the city with almost 4000 votes cast in three public vote categories.

The winners included British Senior Ladies Figure Skating Champion Natasha McKay, who won the city’s Sports Person of the Year, and Oliver Bruce, a member of Kanzen Karate, who won Young Sports Person of the Year.

Kanzen Karate scooped the Dundee Academy of Sport Club of the Year category among an impressive four awards for the club on the night.

Olympians Eilish McColgan and Laura Muir from Hawkhill Harriers, Swimmer, Stephen Milne who trains at Olympia and Grove-Menzieshill Hockey Umpire, Sarah Wilson were all given recognition for their efforts at Rio 2016 and given a special Olympic Roll of Honour presentation.

The evening’s entertainment was provided by the Arbroath Gymnastics Club, Dance 2K and Revolution Dance Crew from St John’s High School.

The winners of the 11 award categories were:

  • GA Engineering Community Coach of the Year – Greg Irvine, Ferry Athletic
  • Leisure & Culture Dundee Young Volunteer of the Year – Gemma Lumsdaine, Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club
  • SportDundee Volunteer of the Year – Jim Sorrie, Fairfield Community Sports Club
  • Sportscotland & Cash for Kids Lifetime Commitment Award – Derek Black, Morgan Rugby Club
    Jigsaw Media Young Team of the Year – Kanzen Karate Boys 11-12 Team
  • Abertay University Team of the Year – Dundee Wanderers Hockey Club Ladies 1st Team
  • Dundee City Disability Sport Jenny Wood Allen Award – Rhys Colliar, Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club
  • Dundee & Angus College Coach of the Year – Roy O’Kane, Kanzen Karate
  • Dundee Sportsman’s Dinner Young Sports Person of the Year – Oliver Bruce, Kanzen Karate
  • Leisure & Culture Dundee Sports Person of the Year – Natasha McKay, Dundee Ice Skating Club
  • Dundee Academy of Sport Club of the Year – Kanzen Karate