Piping and drumming competition winners

© SuppliedSome of the winners.
Some of the winners.

Despite snowy conditions the Vale of Atholl Pipe Band annual junior piping and drumming contest in Pitlochry High School attracted 80 competitors.

The contest is confined to players who live in or are in a band in the Dundee, Perthshire and Angus areas and included competitions on chanter, pipes, drum pad, side drum and tenor drum.

The piping judges were Bruce Hitchings, Logan Tannock and Tom Lewin and the drumming judges were Ryan King and Fiona Wilson, who all praised the high standard of the playing.

The event was run with assistance from College of Piping, Perth and Kinross Council, McCallum Bagpipes and Pipe Major Ian Duncan.


Event 7, chanter nine years and under. R.T.Shepherd & Son Trophy – 1 Daniel McLeod, Dundee; 2 Orla Fawcus, Pitlochry; 3 William Peters, Trinity Gask.

Event 8, chanter 10 to 11 years Atholl Highlander Cup – 1 Hamish Hutchinson, Methven; 2 Andrew Russell, Forfar; 3 Drew Townsley, Perth.

Event 9, chanter 12 to 18 yearrs.  McDonald Bros. Trophy – 1 Suzie Haigh, Kenmore; 2 Callum Fawcus, Pitlochry; 3 Dominic Bews, Perth.

Event 10, novice piping 12 years and under Pitlochry and District

Tourist Association Trophy – 1 Alan Cunningham, Wormit; 2 John William Brown, Perth; 3 Jan Van Der Kuyl, Broughty Ferry.

Event 11, novice piping 13 to 18 years, Abertay University Quaich – 1 Henry Farron, Blair Atholl; 2 Jasper Dimeck, Glenalmond; 3 Angus MacFarlane, Letham, Forfar.

Event 12, drumming on pad . Bank of Scotland Cup – 1 Matthew Hunter, Dundee; 2 Callum Grieve, Glenrothes; 3 Alexis Mitchell, Broughty Ferry.

Event 13, novice drumming.  The Dobson Quaich – 1 Lewis Duncan, Perth; 2 Callum Grieve, Glenrothes; 3 Lachlann Forsyth, Comrie.

Event 14, side drumming 18 and under march. Fishers Hotel Shield – 1 Tommi McAndrew, Laurencekirk; 2 Daniel Jarrat, Perth; 3 David Edmeades, Scone.

Event 15 side drumming 18 and under MSR President Erhard Penker Trophy – 1 Ewan McDonald, Crieff.

Event 16, novice tenor drumming. Val Ferguson Quaich – 1 Dylan Carlin, Dundee; 2 Tamasyn McAndrew, Laurencekirk.

Event 17, tenor drumming 18 and under march.  Kieran Downey Quaich – 1 Logan Shanto, Madderty; 2 Flora McNab, Methven; 3 Tamasyn McAndrew, Laurencekirk.

Event 18, tenor drumming 18 and under MSR.  Bonnethill Salver – 1 Cameron Sinclair, Scone; Matthew Hunter.

Special prizes – Dress and Deportment D/M Ian Cramb Trophy – 1 Jack Liddell; 2 Jordan Ednie; 3 Jason Townsley.

Hugh Campbell Trophy. Most improved piper in Vale of Atholl 2017 –  Brodie Barrie.

P.M Duncan Tankard. Most improved drummer in Vale of Atholl 2017 – Logan Shanto.

P.M.Andy Renwick Trophy. Most outstanding prospect in Vale 2017 – Archie McNab.

Youngest Competitor Piping Salver  – William Peters, Trinity Gask.

Youngest Competitor Drumming. Atholl Estates Trophy – Dylan Carlin, Dundee.

Event 1 Piobaireachd under 15 years.  Clan Donnachaid Tankard 1 – Archie Clark, Crieff; 2 Fraser Robson, Broughty Ferry; 3 Edward Hannay, Glenalmond.

Event 2 Piobaireachd 15 – 18 years. Bank of Scotland Shiled – 1 Jordan Ednie, Dundee; 2 Cameron Bullard, Glenalmond.

Event 3, march under 15. Baxter Wilson Shield – 1 Archie McNab, Methven; 2 Joshua Gordon, Dundee; 3 Andrew Lothian, Invergowrie.

Event 4 , M.S.R.15 to 18 years. P.M. Duncan Trophy – 1 Jordan Ednie, Dundee; 2 Gregor Cochrane, Glenalmond; 3 Cameron Bullard, Glenalmond.

Event 5 Jig under 15 years.  College of Piping Trophy – 1 Brogan Townsley, Perth; 2 Jack Liddell, Coupar Angus; 3 Archie McNab, Methven.

Event 6,  Jig 15 to 18 years. Vale of Atholl Pipe Band Cup – 1 Jordan Ednie, Dundee; 2 Gregor Cochrane, Glenalmond; 3 Lewis Duncan, Perth.

Runner up Under 15 Aberfeldy and District Piping Society Rose Bowl – Archie Clark, Crieff.

Champion piper Under 15 George Seaton Memorial Trophy – Archie McNab, Methven.

Runner up 15 to 18 years. Bank of Scotland trophy – Gregor Cochrane, Glenalmond.

Champion piper 15 to 18 years. Pipe Major Allan Cameron Trophy – Jordan Ednie, Dundee.