Calendar An icon of a desk calendar. Cancel An icon of a circle with a diagonal line across. Caret An icon of a block arrow pointing to the right. Email An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of the Facebook "f" mark. Google An icon of the Google "G" mark. Linked In An icon of the Linked In "in" mark. Logout An icon representing logout. Profile An icon that resembles human head and shoulders. Telephone An icon of a traditional telephone receiver. Tick An icon of a tick mark. Is Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes. Is Not Public An icon of a human eye and eyelashes with a diagonal line through it. Pause Icon A two-lined pause icon for stopping interactions. Quote Mark A opening quote mark. Quote Mark A closing quote mark. Arrow An icon of an arrow. Folder An icon of a paper folder. Breaking An icon of an exclamation mark on a circular background. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Caret An icon of a caret arrow. Clock An icon of a clock face. Close An icon of the an X shape. Close Icon An icon used to represent where to interact to collapse or dismiss a component Comment An icon of a speech bubble. Comments An icon of a speech bubble, denoting user comments. Ellipsis An icon of 3 horizontal dots. Envelope An icon of a paper envelope. Facebook An icon of a facebook f logo. Camera An icon of a digital camera. Home An icon of a house. Instagram An icon of the Instagram logo. LinkedIn An icon of the LinkedIn logo. Magnifying Glass An icon of a magnifying glass. Search Icon A magnifying glass icon that is used to represent the function of searching. Menu An icon of 3 horizontal lines. Hamburger Menu Icon An icon used to represent a collapsed menu. Next An icon of an arrow pointing to the right. Notice An explanation mark centred inside a circle. Previous An icon of an arrow pointing to the left. Rating An icon of a star. Tag An icon of a tag. Twitter An icon of the Twitter logo. Video Camera An icon of a video camera shape. Speech Bubble Icon A icon displaying a speech bubble WhatsApp An icon of the WhatsApp logo. Information An icon of an information logo. Plus A mathematical 'plus' symbol. Duration An icon indicating Time. Success Tick An icon of a green tick. Success Tick Timeout An icon of a greyed out success tick. Loading Spinner An icon of a loading spinner.

Explained: How do I change my Snap Map location settings?

Post Thumbnail

There are three privacy functions for using Snap Map: Ghost Mode, My Friends and Select Friends.

My Friends means all contacts will be able to see your location. Ghost Mode means you are the only person who will see your location on the map, whilst still being able to view where friends are.

The “Select” option allows Snapchat users to look through their friends list and decide who they want to share their locations with.

Three Snap Map users in Scotland.
Three Snap Map users in Scotland.
How Snap Map can be used to highlight big events across the world.
How Snap Map can be used to highlight big events across the world.

Abertay University lecturer Lynsay Shepherd said people would also have the option to say “no there and then” when asked if they want location services turned on whilst using Snapchat.

She added: “It is not something activated by default, you have to allow your location to be shared.”

When first opening Snap Map users can choose who is allowed to view their location.

The message that appears when updating Snapchat to use the map.
The message that appears when updating Snapchat to use the map.
This will appear when first using the Snap Map app.
This will appear when first using the Snap Map app.

Settings can also be changed at any point afterwards in Snapchat’s settings.

How to select different options for privacy when using Snap Map. How to select different options for privacy when using Snap Map.

Do this by:

  • Clicking on the settings icon in the Snapchat screen and thereafter hitting “see my location”. Chose the setting suited to you.
  • Or on the Snap Map itself click the setting button on the top right of the map.

Location sharing is turned onto Ghost Mode by default by Snapchat, with those who chose the My Friends option being periodically asked if they are still comfortable with it.

As Snapchat isn’t a broadcast platform, only mutual friends will ever be able to view the locations of those they are connected to.

How a Bitmoji looks in Dundee using Snap Map.
How a Bitmoji looks in Dundee using Snap Map.
A Bitmoji above our officers on Meadowside.
A Bitmoji above our officers on Meadowside.

An NSCPP Scotland spokesman said: “It’s important that parents have regular conversations with young people about staying safe online, and making sure that they know how to protect their privacy.

“Our Share Aware page can help facilitate these discussions so parents can ensure their child knows they can talk about anything that is worrying them online.”

Already a subscriber? Sign in

[[title]]

[[text]]