A look at Lewis Hamilton’s first 199 Formula One races in numbers

Syndicate Post image

Lewis Hamilton will reach the landmark figure of 200 races in Sunday’s Belgian Grand Prix.

Hamilton made his Formula One debut at the 2007 Australian Grand Prix, and has gone on to become one of the most successful drivers in the sport’s history.

Lewis Hamilton's career in numbers (PA Graphics)
(PA Graphics)

Here, Press Association Sport looks at the numbers behind Hamilton’s remarkable career.

22 – Hamilton’s age in his debut race at the Australian Grand Prix. The Englishman finished third in Melbourne and went on to record nine consecutive podium finishes in his rookie campaign.

57 – Hamilton tasted his opening victory at the 2007 Canadian Grand Prix, and has won 56 further races. He is second on the all-time list behind Michael Schumacher (91).

6 – Hamilton’s first victory at Montreal’s Gilles Villeneuve Circuit came in only his sixth race.

67 – The Canadian Grand Prix in 2007 also marked Hamilton’s first career pole position. He is now just one shy of levelling Schumacher’s all-time pole record.

44 – Hamilton’s race number which he first used in his junior career, and latterly in F1, when drivers were permitted to choose their own number from 2014 onwards.

17 – Hamilton will become the 17th driver to start his 200th F1 race. Brazilian Rubens Barrichello holds the record with 323.

Lewis Hamilton celebrates victory after the 2017 British Grand Prix (David Davies/PA)
Lewis Hamilton celebrates victory after the 2017 British Grand Prix (David Davies/PA)

11 – Hamilton has competed in 11 consecutive grand prix campaigns, and has won at least one race in each of those years.

110 – Hamilton has finished on the podium in more than half of the grands prix he has contested. He also shares the record with Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel for the most podium finishes (17) in a single season which he achieved in 2015 and last year.

18 – The Englishman holds the outright record for the number of consecutive races in which he has led at least one lap.

3 – Hamilton has won the championship on three occasions (2008, 2014, 2015). Only four drivers (Vettel, Schumacher, Juan Manuel Fangio and Alain Prost) have won three titles or more.

37 – Hamilton’s number of fastest laps. He is fourth in the all-time list. Schumacher (77) holds the record.