Kinghorn in at the deep end in Dublin as Scots make one change

Blair Kinghorn will make his first start for Scotland against Ireland on Saturday.

Blair Kinghorn, just 21 and with less than 15 minutes experience at international level, has been plunged into the deep end as the only change in Scotland’s team to take on Ireland in Dublin in the NatWest 6 Nations.

The Edinburgh full-back, who can also play on  the wing and at stand-off, is the replacement for the injured Tommy Seymour, whom he replaced during the Calcutta Cup win over England two weeks ago to win his first international cap.

Only three years ago Kinghorn was playing for Scotland Schools against Ireland and only became a full-time player with Edinburgh last season. However he is one of many who has blossomed under Richard Cockerill at the capital club this season, scoring four tries and five assists while leading the Guinness PRO14 in total metres made.

That was even before he was called up to the Scotland squad, featuriong on the bench but unsued against France before getting his first cap in the 25-13 win over England.

Seymour suffered a back injury in that game and has not trained since, so the enforced change is the only one in the starting line-up made by head coach Gregor Townsend.

On the bench, Townsend has recalled Fraser Brown, who missed the first three games of the championship with concussion issues. The Glasgow Warriors hooker played in all but two of Scotland’s tests in 2017, and takes the place of veteran Scott Lawson.

Scotland team: Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors); Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), Huw Jones, Pete Horne (both Glasgow Warriors), Sean Maitland (Saracens); Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors), Greig Laidlaw (ASM Clermont-Auvergne); Gordon Reid (London Irish), Stuart McInally, Simon Berghan; Grant Gilchrist (all Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); John Barclay (Scarlets, captain), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby), Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors).

Replacements: Fraser Brown, Jamie Bhatti (both Glasgow Warriors), WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), Tom Swinson (Glasgow Warriors), David Denton (Worcester Warriors), Ali Price, Nick Grigg, Lee Jones (all Glasgow Warriors).