Big field of talent lined up for Angus sports awards judging panel

© Paul ReidForfar Boys FC 2004's scooped the 2017 team of the year accolade at last year's event.
Forfar Boys FC 2004's scooped the 2017 team of the year accolade at last year's event.

Runners and riders for the Angus Alive Sports Awards 2018 have been announced after a “fantastic” response to the call for nominations.

The awards will be announced at a glittering ceremony in Forfar’s Reid Hall on March 8, with almost 60 individuals, teams and clubs vying for glory in the nine award categories.

Scott Nicoll of Angus Alive sports team said: “The nomination process for the Angus Alive Sports Awards 2018 closed on Monday, with a fantastic 57 individuals, teams, and clubs nominated.”

Past winner Darren Burnett is among those looking to take home the accolade of Sports Personality of the Year as successor to the 2017 winner, Dundee Dragons Wheelchair Sports Club athlete Gemma Lumsdaine.

Bowler Burnett will line up against contenders from the sports of rugby, curling, sailing and fly fishing for the top honour.

The nominees are:

Club Volunteer of the Year Award

Alana Mackie (Brechin Beavers Swimming Club), Derek Nisbet (Forfar Amateur Swimming Club), Jordan Young (St Thomas Amateur Swimming Club), Andy Inglis (Montevelo Cycling Club), Scott Robertson (Carnoustie Claymores), Lorna Cochrane (Highland Games).

Coach of the Year

Kay Rudd (Special Olympics Tayside), Richard Heggie (Monifieth Athletic FC), Oliver Carter (Montrose Triathlon Club), Gemma Lumsdaine (Dundee Dragons), David Wilson (Forfar Badminton Club), Lewis Davidson (Langlands Primary School), Lynsey Stuart (Special Olympics Tayside).

Outstanding Commitment Award

Margaret Hadden (Brechin Beavers Swimming Club), Clark Renilson (Brechin City Youths FC), Evelyn Smith (Special Olympics Tayside), Ian Thomson (Lochside Boys FC), Robin Shields (football).

School Sports Volunteer of the Year Award

Pippa Reddy (Birkhill PS), Amy-Louise Scott (Muirfield PS), Becky Whyte (Northmuir PS), Brian Stewart (Monifieth High), Callum Burnett (Websters High), Lee Paterson (Arbroath High), Stephanie Kydd (Monifieth High), Sylvia Biesok (Timmergreens PS).

Sports Personality of the Year

Murray Mitchell (Strathmore Silverbacks rugby), Hailey Duff (Team Morrison curling), Darren Burnett (Arbroath Bowling Club), Niamh Harper (P3 British Sailing Squad), Kathleen Shepherd (European Fly Fishing).

Sports Personality of the Year Award for People with a Disability

Murran MacKay (Red Star – athletics), Oliver Bernard (Special Olympics Tayside – cycling), Beth Greig (St Thomas Amateur Swimming Club), Liam Thom (Special Olympics Tayside MATP), Scott Perera (Special Olympics Tayside swimming/athletics), Adam Watson (Special Olympics Tayside cycling)

Young Sports Personality of the Year

Zoe Rennie (netball /cricket /basketball, Sophie Smith (St Thomas Amateur Swimming Club), Shona Campbell (Angus Netball /Six Pack touch rugby), Ben Hudson (Tennis Scotland), Lucy Hay (Dundee Ice Skating Club).

Club of the Year

Montrose Community Football Club, Arbroath Bowling Club, Monifieth Athletic Football Club, Strathmore Rugby Club.

Team of the Year

Montrose Tennis Club junior first team, Forfar Farmington Football Club Under 13’s, Langlands Primary School basketball team, Special Olympics Tayside, Arbroath Gymnastics Club elite display team, Forfar Amateur Swimming Club (Swimming)

Early bird tickets for the awards can be purchased online, with full price tickets on sale on January 23 at

To be eligible for an award the nominee must have involvement in a sport recognised by sportscotland.